2017-2018 Science Planning Summaries
United States Antarctic Program United States Antarctic Program Logo National Science Foundation Logo
2017-2018 USAP Field Season
Project Detail

Project Title

McMurdo LTER – Integrative Science: Ecosystem response to amplified landscape connectivity in the McMurdo Dry Valleys, Antarctica

no photo available


Event Number:
NSF/OPP Award 1637708

Program Manager:
Dr. Jennifer Burns

ASC POC/Implementer:
Jenny Cunningham / Elizabeth Kauffman / Jennifer Blum

Principal Investigator

Dr. Cristina Takacs-Vesbach

University of New Mexico
Albuquerque, New Mexico

Project Web Site:


Supporting Stations: McMurdo Station
Research Locations: McMurdo Dry Valleys


Initially funded in 1980, the U.S. Long-Term Ecological Research (LTER) network is a collaborative effort of more than 1,800 scientists and students. The McMurdo LTER program is a multi-disciplinary aquatic and terrestrial ecosystems study in the McMurdo Dry Valleys. It is one of 26 LTER sites where researchers are studying ecological processes over long temporal and broad spatial scales. This event will focus on microbial ecology, activity, and biodiversity across a variety of Dry Valleys' habitats, including soils, streams, and lakes. This six-year award cycle comprises seven collaborative projects: C-504-M (Gooseff), C-505-M (Priscu), C-506-M (Gooseff), C-507-M (Adams), C-508-M (Takacs-Vesbach), C-509-M (Gooseff), and C-511-M (Doran).

Field Season Overview

Five participants will deploy in two groups, with one participant deploying between 5 November and 20 December (Takacs-Vesbach), and four deploying between 30 December and 5 February (led by Morgan-Kiss). The group will stay at Lake Bonney and Lake Fryxell fixed camps, and will access field sites with helicopter day trips and on foot. They will process and analyze some samples in Dry Valleys fixed camp laboratories, and will also perform work in Crary Laboratory.

Deploying Team Members

  • Shawn Devlin
  • Peter Doran
  • Kelli Feeser
  • Rachael Morgan-Kiss (Co-PI)
  • Cristina Takacs-Vesbach (PI)