2018-2019 Science Planning Summaries
United States Antarctic Program United States Antarctic Program Logo National Science Foundation Logo
2018-2019 USAP Field Season
Project Detail

Project Title

Management and operations of the IceCube Neutrino Observatory 2016-2021

Management and operations of the IceCube Neutrino Observatory 2016-2021
A-333-S Research Location(s): Dark Sector


Event Number:
NSF/OPP Award 1600823

Program Manager:
Dr. Vladimir Papitashvili

ASC POC/Implementer:
Paul Sullivan / Timothy Ager / Neal Scheibe / Leah Street

Principal Investigator(s)

Dr. Francis Halzen
University of Wisconsin Madison
Physics Department
Madison, Wisconsin

Project Web Site:


Supporting Stations: South Pole Station
Research Locations: Dark Sector


The IceCube neutrino telescope transforms a cubic kilometer of ice into a Cherenkov detector. IceCube will open unexplored wavelength bands for astronomy using neutrinos as cosmic messengers. The project is an international collaboration and the University of Wisconsin Madison serves as the host institution providing oversight and staffing.

Field Season Overview

On-Ice activities will include maintenance and operations improvements to the existing IceCube infrastructure. This work will take place primarily in the South Pole IceCube Counting Laboratory (ICL). The following is planned: (1) replacing half of the dedicated IceCube servers in the ICL; (2) logging in the South Pole Ice Core (SPICECore) borehole; (3) training winter-over personnel; (4) calibration runs; (5) performing IceTop Marker pole maintenance; (6) installing additional IceACT (air Cherenkov telescope) detectors; (7) replacing and disposing of about 2,000 pounds of UPS batteries; (8) providing on-ice data acquisition upgrades support; (9) retrograding Jade disks and other IT-related tasks; and (10) scintillator maintenance, including elevating raised detector panels. Support contractor personnel will survey the locations of the scintillators and IceTops and provide requested copper grounding railings in the doghouse.

Deploying Team Members

  • Ralf Auer
  • Timothy Bendfelt
  • Hrvoje Dujmovic
  • Michael DuVernois
  • Anna Pollmann
  • Perry Sandstrom
  • Alec Shepard