2018-2019 Science Planning Summaries
United States Antarctic Program United States Antarctic Program Logo National Science Foundation Logo
2018-2019 USAP Field Season
Project Detail

Project Title

Precision operation of Hexagonal Radio Array (HRA)

Precision operation of Hexagonal Radio Array (HRA)
A-127-M/S Research Location(s): ARIANNA site at Moore's Bay / South Pole Station


Event Number:
NSF/OPP Award 1607719

Program Manager:
Dr. Vladimir Papitashvili

ASC POC/Implementer:
Jenny Cunningham / Jennifer Blum / Paul Sullivan

Principal Investigator(s)

Dr. Steven Barwick
University of California Irvine
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Irvine, California

Project Web Site:


Supporting Stations: McMurdo Station, South Pole Station
Research Locations: ARIANNA site at Moore's Bay / South Pole Station


The pilot project for the Antarctic Ross Ice-Shelf Antenna Neutrino Array (ARIANNA) consists of seven autonomous stations, called the Hexagonal Radio Array (HRA). Located on the surface of the Ross Ice Shelf in Antarctica, the HRA is designed to detect short-duration radio pulses generated by neutrino interactions in the ice, which reflect from the ice-water surface at the bottom of the Ross Ice Shelf up to the stations on the surface. These measurements provide important insight on the locations of the most powerful particle accelerators in the universe and allow physicists to probe for novel physics beyond the standard model used in the field.

Field Season Overview

Four team members will travel by helicopter to the ARIANNA campsite at Moore's Bay, south of McMurdo Station. They will receive support contractor assistance to put in a three-week tent camp. While there, they will collect data from all stations, elevate solar panels to bit snow accumulation, and upgrade and test software. Upon returning to McMurdo Station, two participants will travel to South Pole Station. They will spend about 10 days moving the equipment installed last season to a new location near South Pole Station.

Deploying Team Members

  • Steven Barwick (PI)
  • Hans Bernhoff
  • Geoffrey Gaswint
  • Christian Glaser (Team Leader)
  • Manuel Paul
  • Christopher Persichilli
  • Simon Zierke