2018-2019 Science Planning Summaries
United States Antarctic Program United States Antarctic Program Logo National Science Foundation Logo
2018-2019 USAP Field Season
Project Detail

Project Title

Imaging the beginning of time from the South Pole: The next stage of the BICEP program

no photo available
A-149-S Research Location(s): Dark Sector


Event Number:
NSF/OPP Award 1638957

Program Manager:
Dr. Vladimir Papitashvili

ASC POC/Implementer:
Paul Sullivan / Timothy Ager / Neal Scheibe / Leah Street

Principal Investigator(s)

Dr. John Kovac
Harvard University
Cambridge, Massachusetts

Project Web Site:


Supporting Stations: South Pole Station
Research Locations: Dark Sector


This project continues the Background Imaging of Cosmic Extragalactic Polarization (BICEP)/Keck/BICEP3 program of cosmic microwave background (CMB) polarization observations while initiating the phased upgrade to the new BICEP array. This upgrade follows the tradition of improving upon the previous generation’s detectors housed in the mounts originally built for the Degree Angular Scale Interferometer (DASI), then subsequently used by the Small Polarimeter Upgrade for DASI (SPUD) and most recently the Keck Array.

Field Season Overview

At station opening, the team will use the Martin A. Pomerantz Observatory (MAPO) roof crane to take down one of the five Keck array receivers. It will be replaced with a 150 GHz receiver retrofitted with new UHF multiplexer readout hardware for focal-plane replacement. Once that is done, and the receivers are re-mounted, they will run test observations and perform any necessary calibrations. Support contractors will enlarge the opening in the ground shield and continue to work with the BICEP team to plan the installation of the BICEP array in 2019-20.

Deploying Team Members

  • Zeeshan Ahmed
  • Denis Barkats
  • James Cornelison
  • John D'Ewart
  • Marion Dierickx
  • Josef Frisch
  • John Kovac (PI)
  • Attila Kovacs
  • Steven Palladino
  • Robert Schwarz
  • Michael St Germaine
  • Daniel Van Winkle
  • Eric Yang
  • Edward Young
  • Cyndia Yu